Jump to

Freshwater Parish History

Freshwater Memorial Hall

feshwater memorial hall

Built Heritage

The Parish of Freshwater is extremely fortunate to have a large number of buildings and structures of architectural and historic merit. Many are protected by English Heritage listing which preserves them for future generations, a complete list can be seen HERE. A proud achievement of the Parish was the restoration of the Pound with help from the Heritage Lottery Fund.

In addition to the English Heritage list the Isle of Wight Council has a Local List, Island residents are encouraged to inform the Council of structures that merit recognition. In 2008 a team of Freshwater Parish Councillors and the Parish Archivist were successful in getting eight structures added to the Local List.

Pictures of Below Locations Coming Soon…

No. Structure/Park Road
1 Farringford Park Bedbury Lane
2 Royal Standard Hotel School Green Road
3 Freshwater Library School Green Road
4 Remains of Cliff End Battery, Linstone Chine Holiday Village Monks Lane
5 Cliff End Battery Machine Gun Post, Linstone Chine Holiday Village Monks Lane
6 Causeway Cottage The Causeway
7 Moa Place & Green Moa Place
8 Parish Hall & Rectory Chapel Victoria Road
9 Wheelwright Form Brookside Road
10 Causeway Bridge The Causeway
11 Greystones Greystone Lane
12 Afton Thatch The Causeway
13 World War II Pill Box Afton Garden Centre Car Park
14 World War II Pill Box The Causeway
15 K6 Telephone Box School Green Road


Skip to content